Didjshop Forum
All about didgeridoos and didj-related topics

Home » Didjshop Forum » Aboriginal Issues » Aboriginal costume--disrespectful? if not, ideas?
Aboriginal costume--disrespectful? if not, ideas? [message #5383] Thu, 23 October 2008 23:49 Go to previous message
Tresch is currently offline  Tresch
Hello! I've been an amateur didjeridu player for several years, now, and I really enjoy showing the instrument to new people and telling them a thing or two about where it comes from. I have purchased a didj from this site, and I absolutely love it, as does anyone who is willing to listen to me drone on.

I've been invited to a party in a couple weeks that will be outdoors. Several people are bringing musical instruments, and so I am bringing my didj (as well as some PVC ones) and a drum. Another attendee will be bringing a PVC didj as well.

The catch is this: Costumes are not required for the party, but they are very encouraged. I thought that, since I'm going to be bringing a proper didjeridu, that maybe I could dress the part as well!

My first and primary concern--as I'm not yet an expert on Aboriginal culture--is to not do anything that might be considered offensive or disrespectful, as I am very much a "White American" and not in any way Aboriginal, unless you count the fact that I play the didj. So I want to make sure that, if I'm wearing a ceremonial aboriginial outfit, I'm not wearing a particular outfit that would be disrespectful in any way!

Other than that, I'm just looking for ideas. For practicalities sake, I'd like to keep it simple, but I'd like to be at least mostly visually authentic. Furthermore, if there's any resources out there regarding the history and meaning of the dress, that would be good, too, because I'm sure people will ask questions at the party, if I go through with it, and I'd like to be able to provide some useful information.